Ramblings of a closet-feminist.

This post is unconventional for the style of this blog, but I feel it to be necessary.

Reese Witherspoon. Lauren Conrad. Laura Bush. What do all these women have in common? (Besides being beautiful, intelligent, and successful.) They are all considered feminists. *Gasp* Yes, I said the “f-word.” How dare I call these women such a derogatory term usually associated with “bra-burning, anti-shaving, aggressive” women. Well let me tell you, there is more than one face of feminism.

Let me preface the rest of this post by telling you a little bit more about myself. I grew up in a small (I mean very small) conservative southern town in northeast Texas. Based on the idea I had of feminism, I considered it an insult if someone called me a feminist. I refused to let myself be grouped together with this (incorrect) perception of vocal women of (what I understood to be) hippies that stood for things I strongly opposed. Then I came to college and over time my view changed. Much to my astonishment I discovered that you can’t look at someone and tell whether or not they’re a feminist. “Feminism” isn’t a hairstyle, choice of clothes, or anything you can see. It is the belief that women should be treated the same as men, especially at home and in the workplace.

The women I listed at this beginning of this post are 3 women I have always looked up too. They’re the epitome of classy, poised, and driven. Before coming to college I never would have called these women feminists, but guess what? They are. Chances are you are too and probably don’t know it yet. Let me explain.

 

Reese Witherspoon (before her unfortunate DUI incident) gave an amazing interview to Red magazine, and when asked if she considered herself to be a feminist she responded, “Absolutely, or course.” She reeled off some interesting statistics, “Even now, in America, a woman makes 87 cents to every dollar a man makes. If you’re a black woman, you make 75 cents. You’re a Latin woman, it’s 67 cents. And this is doing the same job. There is enormous inequality in pay and inequality in the workplace to this day.”

She also commented about how “ambitious” should not be a euphemism for “aggressive” when talking about a women and encouraged women to be proud of what they have done. “As women, we shrug and smile and say, “Oh… me?” because it makes it socially acceptable for us to be successful. ‘But there is a balance between being an arrogant jerk and being someone who is proud of their accomplishments. We need to let successful women show off and support them. Because men don’t spend any time putting themselves down. They don’t waste their breath. You have to be the best version of yourself and, if that means you have to be a bit self-promoting, then it’s okay. It really is. Because who’s going to believe in you more than yourself? Other than, maybe, your mother.” Smart girl.

Now to Lauren Conrad, if you haven’t heard, she put a skeevy radio host in his place when he asked her a loaded question in a recent interview hoping to get an embarrassing response from the young businesswoman. He asked, “What’s your favorite position?” and without batting an eye she said, “CEO.” Thank you Lauren for reminding us (as Katie Gonzalez of EliteDaily so eloquently put it) “It’s OK if you’d rather post up in the boardroom than lie flat on your back in the bedroom.”

And finally Laura Bush, a former First Lady. You may be thinking, “Okay, “First Lady” is just another term for “White House Homemaker” how can she be a feminist?” I’m sorry to blow your mind, but yes she is a feminist, and she’s pretty good at being one too. In 2012 she was awarded the Alice Paul Award, for her “commitment to education, health care and human rights.” The selection board applauded her for making an impact on women’s lives both at home and abroad. Further proof that even a philanthropic lifestyle for women who prefer to be homemakers are grounds for feminism. Also, I would just like to add that we are no longer living in the Victorian era. A woman’s place is not in the kitchen nor are women required to cater to a male’s every need. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

Recent events in my life have prompted me to take a step back, stop fighting the term feminism, and instead embrace it. As a former Texas Capitol intern I was called “Sweetheart” and “Little Lady” regularly by representatives and male colleagues. Turns out this unacceptable treatment isn’t uncommon. At the time I was young and submissive, now I know it is okay to stand up for myself. So don’t be afraid to state your opinion because you’re a woman, don’t be afraid to be smarter than your male colleagues, and don’t ever let anyone tell you that you can’t achieve your goals. In the words of Elle Woods, “Speak up America. Speak up!”

One thought on “Ramblings of a closet-feminist.

Leave a comment